There are different classifications of charges in VA and to understand the criminal law and the charges against you then it is necessary to have knowledge of these classifications. The person can be charged with either a felony or misdemeanor. The felony has more serious penalties and the person can be sentenced to jail and there can be a death penalty but a misdemeanor is not serious and the possible punishment can be up to 12 months in jail with a little or reasonable amount of fine.
If you have convicted a misdemeanor then it is necessary that you must consult an experienced lawyer who ensures that your rights are protected during the trial. These lawyers have the ability to reduce the penalty and also the dismissal of the case. In this article, we are going to discuss Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia in detail. Let’s have a look at it.
The Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia
There are many classes of a misdemeanor and the most serious misdemeanor is class 1. These are also known as the less serious felonies. There are many crimes that are being charged with class 1 misdemeanor. Let’s discuss these crimes in detail.
- Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and other Drugs
If the content of alcohol in your blood is 0.08 or greater that this then it is considered as a class 1 misdemeanor because you are driving under the influence of alcohol or any other drug. You will be charged with DWI because you are intoxicated and it can happen that you are under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Reckless driving
Reckless driving is class 1 misdemeanor VA. If you are found with the conviction of this crime in VA then the judge can send you to jail for a period of one year. The other undesired thing that can happen to you is that he can cancel your driving license for almost six months. The possible fine that can be charged to you will be USD 2500. For reckless driving, about 6 points will be taken and it is definitely a big disadvantage for you. If an adult has the conviction of this crime then this crime will remain on your criminal record for life.
- Domestic Violence
In this state, the domestic violence is considered as the class 1 misdemeanor and for the conviction of this crime, the person can be sent to jail for the period of 1 year. The possible fine will be USD 2500. This amount does not include the court and the other related expenses.
- Assault and Battery
Both assault and battery are considered as a class 1 misdemeanor and if the victim is being selected on the basis of color, religion, and race then it will be the Class 6 felony. For class 1 misdemeanor, the punishment will be up to 12 months in jail and the possible fine will be USD 2500.
Consulting an experienced lawyer to reduce your penalty and the possible fine is very important in VA.