Reckless driving is a serious offense in Hampton and the rest of Virginia. General reckless driving, for example, can include any kind of reckless behavior that endangers life, limb or property, no matter how fast the driver is travelling. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and Virginia State Police have released a list of other types of driving that are considered reckless driving.
Reckless driving involves a variety of traffic violations in Virginia. Call a lawyer or arrange counseling with a reckless Virginia driver to get your case settled. A lawyer from Hampton Reckless Driving can help you with your reckless driving to prepare you for the best possible situation.
The most common form of reckless driving is speeding, which means driving too fast in current weather conditions and / or exceeding the prescribed speed limit. Examples include driving with defective brakes, overtaking a halting school bus that loads or unloads passengers, and overtaking other vehicles such as buses, trucks or other heavy vehicles. However, in addition to speeding, anyone who operates a motor vehicle recklessly, endangers life, limb or property, or runs it recklessly at excessive speed, can be charged with a variety of other offences, from driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs to speeding.
There is also general reckless driving, that is, when a police officer can accuse someone of a variety of different behaviors, when he or she can prove that the driver is driving in a manner that endangers life, limb or property. People are issued with a general “recklessness” when they do something that does not make the officer particularly happy. Some police departments require officers to charge someone if an accident has occurred.
Reckless driving differs from speeding in that there is such a thing as reckless driving at excessive speed. If you get away at a speed of 19 miles per hour or more, you may be flagged for speeding, overtaking an emergency vehicle or passing traffic lights.
Reckless driving alone is not just speed-dependent. It is also reckless driving at excessive speed.
It is possible to find out whether you have been charged with reckless driving or just speeding with a ticket by looking at the document that a police officer asks you to sign when he passes you. This document should indicate whether your speed is reckless or “just too fast.”
By contrast, it is possible to plead guilty to speeding online and accept the consequences without having to go to court. If you have been charged with reckless driving, the charge is mandatory, but if you only show how fast you are driving and do not say “yes” or “no” where no charges are indicated, you can tick the box “not” depending on whether or not you need to “go to court.”
Class 1 misdemeanors, which means you face a $1,000 fine and 6 demerit points on your driver’s license. This will not affect your driving ability at all, as your reckless driving will be excluded from your driving ability for 11 years. The 6 “error” points remain on the license for two years, and the $2,500 penalty for the second offense for a total of $3,600.
Courts rarely impose maximum penalties for reckless driving. The faster you travel, the worse the penalties. Hampton’s reckless driving lawyer can explain what you can expect in hindsight in this particular case. The role of a lawyer in a reckless – negligent – case is to present evidence in the best possible way about the incident and to dispel any reasonable doubt about the allegations against the policeman. A lawyer can help you by recommending you do things like take a driving test, do community service or have your speedometer calibrated.