The charges of domestic violence under Virginia law can be extremely serious and have far – reaching consequences that can affect your life for years to come. If you are facing any type of domestic’s violence or assault charges, contacting a domestic – violence attorney in Virginia is the best way to clear your name and avoid a life – changing criminal conviction. A conviction for domestic Violence can lead to a fine of up to $ 10,000, up – to – five years in prison, or both. Call us to find out how an experienced criminal lawyer can help you.
Domestic Violence in Virginia, or domestic assault, as defined, is qualified if two basic elements are present, namely :(1) a physical or sexual assault and (2) the use or threat of physical violence.
An incident involving a current or former spy or family member. An incident in which the incident involves the use or threat of physical or sexual violence.
An incident that includes the use or threat of physical or sexual violence against a current or former spy or family member. An incident in which the incident involves the uses or threats of sexual or physical violence. The use of force or the threat to cause injury.
An action that is intended to provoke the use of force or the threat of physical or sexual violence against a current or former spy or family member. An act that intends to injure or together with the capacity to injured.
This definition is important because it establishes that domestic violence cannot be brought if there is bodily injury or injury to health, if physical contact is abed, or if the intent to cause harm is the primary or primary cause of the physical or sexual violence or the threat of harm, and if it is an intentional act of violence against a current or former spy or family member.
Family members and household members are defined as the following. Spiders and ex – spiders living together, including parents, grandparents, siblings, and children. Immediate family members (stepmothers) include children who live together. This includes the parent, grandparent, sibling, or child.
Persons who have lived together for the last 12 months. Individuals with common children have ever married and are living together with children who live with their parents, grandparents, siblings, or children living with them. Persons who’ve lived alone or in a group of persons for at least one year.
Individuals who constitute a family or family members for the purposes of domestic violence or battery in Virginia. This is a first – class offense under Virginia law that can result in a prison sentence of up to five years and a $ 10,000 fine. Any other court practice that has occurred over a 20-year period can be reclassified as a Class 6 felony charge that carries prison sentences of five year and/or a fine of $ 1,500.
There may also be side effects of a domestic violence conviction that may include the inability to possess or carry a firearm under federal law, an order prohibiting contact with the other party, a period during which the person must meet certain requirements, and the need to be determined if further treatment is necessary.
A conviction for domestic assault may also jeopardize an individual’s immigration status. Depending on the nature of your work, you may lose the necessary security clearance. Therapists should seek help from a domestic violence attorney in Virginia.