Reckless driving is a violation of Virginia traffic laws. The person who violates will face some penalties that can be harsher according to the nature of a crime. Even the best and professional drivers can also slip sometimes. For example, you have to pick your kid from the nursery or daycare and you will leave the work later than you thought because you were busy to complete a project. Your child nursery or daycare will charge you an extra fee if you will be late from your work in this situation you will feel stressed because you are just down to the wire or maybe you will be worried about some of your personal problem. When all these things will be going on your mind, you will take your eyes off of the speedometer of your car another vehicle. The next thing you can be considered here, there may be a state trooper just behind your vehicle and flashing the lights because your speed is crossing the limit.
A ticket of speeding is a hassle under any situation and you will increase the speed without noticing anything. At that time the trooper will ask you to stop a car and he or she will say that you were doing 85 and he will charge you with a reckless driving ticket. Here the up to 85 mph speed is considered reckless driving. This is a crime, not a traffic offense only that you have done.
A charge of the reckless driving by speed is stressful but there are best solutions you can hire an experienced lawyer that can provide you a proper defense and to protect your driving license from suspension.
How Will Speeding Be Considered Reckless Driving?
In Virginia, there are some laws that will help to control the reckless driving there. The person who will not follow the rules can face harsher penalties. There has a specific statute in Virginia which makes it a form of reckless driving to:
- Driving with the fastest speed of 80mph
- The speed that can be more than 20 mph will consider over the speed limit on the highway or road you are driving your vehicle.
This distinction may create some confusion in the mind of some drivers because in Virginia there are some highways where the speed limit is 70mph. So it will consider a reckless driving if a person drives 81 mph on those highways.
Under the Virginia code number §46.2-862 if a trapper or police officer will click you at the speed of 8mph on any road than you can be charged with the reckless driving. So here’s the speed is considered reckless driving.
Penalties For The Charge:
It is defined as class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. It takes very seriously and its penalties are also very hard. The person who violates the rules will face the following penalties.
- Up to 1-year imprisonment
- Fine up to $2,500
- Suspension of your driving license
- 6 demerit points added to your driving record for more than 11 years
These penalties can negatively affect your education, employment and personal life as well.